Our curriculum revolves. It makes it easy for you to start just about anytime. Classes are currently being held Tuesday through Friday which takes about 4 months to finish. We also offer a Saturday /Sunday program which takes about 8 months to complete. You can also craft an attendance schedule that works around your schedule.
Our tuition is $8,000.
If you pay in full in advance we buy your books and a massage table. You may make payments on tuition while you are a student but tuition must be paid in full before you receive your diploma. Textbooks cost about $185.
Anatomy and Physiology -------------200 Hours
Structure and function of the body, Pathologies, Kinesiology, and Directives for critical thinking
Massage Techniques ------------------300 Hours
Basic relaxation massage techniques, Draping, Sports massage, neuromuscular therapy, Client intake and assessment, History of massage, Student clinic massage, Basic contraindications and Directives for critical thinking
Hygiene ---------------------------------------25 Hours
HIV and Disease transmission, Clinic/personal hygiene, and How disease spreads within the body
Hydrotherapy -------------------------------25 Hours
Spa techniques, Stone massage, Safety
Business, Law, Ethics ------------------25 Hours
Marketing, Arkansas massage law, Ethics and the Business of massage (i.e., record keeping, taxes, etc.)
Varied topics related to massage----50 Hours
Modalities and related topics
Field Trips, Guest Speakers --------------Varies
Students must complete a minimum of 35 hours of student clinical massage.
The Edge Student Handbook
How the license process works
Complete your hours here or at least get close. I suggest strongly that you pass our final before taking the MBLEx. It is true that anyone with $195 and a transcript can take the MBLEx but we want you to be as prepared as possible so taking our final just makes sense.
Sign up for MBLEX and ask us to send your transcript to them.
Take and pass the MBLEX.
Print the application for license from the state website. Complete the application, include necessary documents and mail to the AR DoH.
They will send the background check information directly to you. Complete and return
You will get an email telling you that it is time to take the law test.
After passing the law test you should receive your license in about a week.
Include with your application a stamped envelope addressed to (and I suggest using the same as the return address):
Arkansas Department of Health
4815 W Markham Slot 8
Little Rock, AR 72205
Sign up to take the MBLEx at;
It may take a week or so to get your confirmation email telling you that you have been approved to test, don’t forget to check your junk mail. You will then schedule your exam at one of the Pearson Vue testing centers any where in the world. Our closest options are Ft. Smith, Tulsa OK or Springfield MO. You will be given a piece of paper with your results as you leave, KEEP THIS PAPER! Bring it to us and we can start the application process.
____1. Notarized Application ( http://www.arkansasmassagetherapy.com/Forms.htm)
____2. MBLEx results
____3. Massage School Transcript
____4. Massage School Diploma
____5. Negative tb test (Mediserve is quick and easy $17ish)
____6. CPR card (We have options as low as $20)
____7. High school diploma or transcript
____ 8. Copy of your Social Security Card
____ 9. A copy of drivers license
____10. Cashiers check or money order to ASBMT for $180
____11. Background check
Once you have all of this information gathered you can schedule a time to meet with the director and we will help complete your application packet. After the packet is received by the DoH they will contact you to schedule the law exam to complete the process.
Textbooks and School Expenses
Massage Therapy Principles and Practice 5th Edition Susan Salvo $88.95
Trail Guide to the Body 5th Edition Andrew Biel $69.95
Trail Guide to the Body Student Workbook $26.95
You will also need a twin size sheet set and whatever educational tools you require. The massage lubricant you choose is a very personal decision, so personal that I created my own and you will have an ongoing need for it so I suggest you try many different kinds until you find what you prefer. You will also need to purchase liability insurance before you will be allowed to work on the public and I can direct you toward a policy that is $77 for 1 year and when you graduate it turns into a professional liability policy.
Inclement weather policy
Snow and ice are usually the weather in question and our policy is to close whenever Fayetteville schools close. We list closings on the local stations but they may only appear on their websites. I try to change the school answering machine at least by 7;30 or 8am. Weekends I will post it with the news stations and will change the machine by 7:30 or 8am.